Print Page | Sign In | Register
Stay Ahead of the Curve: Don’t Become a Malpractice Case Study (Nurse Talks)
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
Stay Ahead of the Curve:  Don’t Become a Malpractice Case Study (Nurse Talks)

More than $90 million was paid in indemnity and expenses for professional liability claims on behalf of nurses over five years. Examine actual nurse claims and identify whether the involved nurse managed risks properly. Using this information, you can concentrate your risk management efforts to improve patient safety, enhance quality of care, and reduce risk and error.

2/13/2019
When: Wednesday, February 13, 2019
6:00 p.m.
Where: Across Texas
United States
Contact: Texas Nurses Association
512-452-0645

« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Free CNE: This activity qualifies for 1.0 contact hours. At the end of this February 2019 Nurse Talk, nurses will self-report understanding of risk behaviors that can lead to malpractice claims and how to apply risk management tools into nursing practice to protect themselves and patients. Texas Nurses Association/Foundation Provider Unit is accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.

To receive credit for this continuing nursing education activity, the participant must:

Sign in;
Be present for 95% of the activity;
Participation in the Nurse Talks Discussion Questions;
Complete and submit an online activity evaluation form.

 

Once successful completion is achieved, a “Certificate of Successful Completion” will be awarded for 1.0 contact hours.

Knapp Medical Center
1401 E 8th Street
Weslaco, TX 78596
Facilitator: Ann Hinojosa
ahinojosa2@primehealthcare.com
Capacity: 100
UT Health Tyler North Campus
11937 US Hwy 271
Tyler, TX 75706
Facilitator: Donna Walker
donna.walker@uthct.edu
Capacity: 150 
Texas A&M University-Texarkana
7101 University Avenue
Texarkana, TX 75503
Facilitator: Heather McKnight
hmcknight@cableone.net
Capacity: 40

Baptist School of Nursing and Health Professions
8400 Datapoint Dr
San Antonio, TX 78232
Facilitator: Jennifer Cook
cook@uiwtx.edu
Capacity: 50

Mission Regional Medical Center
900 S Bryan Road
Mission, TX 78572
Facilitator: Kennetha Foster
kfoster3@primehealthcare.com
Capacity: 200

The Woodlands Hospital- Houston Methodist, Conference Rooms 1&2 
17201 1-45
The Woodlands, TX 77385
Facilitator: Aletha Savage
alethafsavage@gmail.com
Capacity: 30

Seton Administration Offices
1345 Philomena Street
Austin, TX 78723
Facilitator: Leah May
lmay@ascension.org
Capacity: 95

New Parkland Hospital, Rm 02-405.01
5200 Harry Hines Blvd
Dallas, TX 75235
Facilitator: Michael LoSasso
michaellosasso64@gmail.com
Capacity: 20

Talkington Center for Nursing Education, Rm 114    
1919 Frankford Ave
Lubbock, TX 79410
Facilitator: Patricia Freier
pfreier@covhs.org
Capacity: 40
Lake Granbury Medical Center
1310 Paluxy Rd
Granbury, TX 76408
Facilitator: Rebekah Butler
rebekah_butler@covhs.org
Capacity: 20
Texas Nurses Association
4807 Spicewood Springs Rd, Bldg 3, Ste 100
Austin, TX 78759
Facilitator: Ron Hillard
ronhill1281@live.com
Capacity: 30

Mainland Medical Center
6801 Emmert F. Lowry Expy
Texas City, TX 77591
Facilitator: Serena Jackson
serena.jackson@hcahealthcare.com
Capacity: 50

William P. Clements University Hospital
6201 Harry Hines Blvd
Dallas, TX 75390
Facilitator: Stephanie Huckaby
stephanie.huckaby@utsouthwestern.edu
Capacity: 20

Odessa Regional Medical Center
520 East Sixth Street
Odessa, TX 79760
Facilitator: Yvette Woody
ywoody2000@yahoo.com
Capacity: 40

Children's Hospital of San Antonio
3rd Floor Simulation Center
333 N. Santa Rosa
San Antonio, TX 78207
Facilitator: Gayle Dasher
gayle.dasher@christushealth.org
Capacity: 30

Texas Health Harris Methodist Ft. Worth, Education Center Auditorium
1301 Pennsylvania 
Fort Worth, TX 76104
Facilitator: Tammy Eades
jamiegilbert@texashealth.org, eades@uta.edu
Capacity: 200 

University Medical Center
602 Indiana Ave
Lubbock, TX 79415
Facilitator: Tammy Williams
tammy.williams@umchealthsystem.com
Capacity: 25

 

TNA D9 Office at Arena Tower Two
7324 Southwest Freeway,14th Floor, Conference Rm 2-1450
Houston, TX 77074
Facilitator: Tina Cuellar
tinaatutmb@aol.com, tna9@tnadistrict9.com
Capacity: 20
Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi
Island Hall - 323 College of Nursing and Health Sciences
6300 Ocean Dr
Corpus Christi, TX 78412
Facilitator: Sandra Stokes
sandra.stokes@tamucc.edu
Capacity: 40
Peterson Regional Medical Center
5511 Hill Country
Kerrville, TX 78028
Facilitator: Linda Juenke
ljsoaringeagle3@gmail.com

 

 

 

Texas Nurses Association

Texas Affiliate of ANA | 4807 Spicewood Springs Rd., Bldg 3, Suite 100, Austin TX 78759

800.862.2022 | 512.452.0645 | tna@texasnurses.org