Print Page | Sign In | Register
Workplace Violence (Nurse Talks Empowerment Series)
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
Workplace Violence (Nurse Talks Empowerment Series)

Physical assault, threatening behavior or verbal abuse are common risks in nursing workplaces. However, violence is not often reported, and few studies have been done. Look at barriers to reporting, Texas Workforce Commission recommendations, and legislative progress. Discuss the issue with colleagues, and brainstorm ways to get involved. Now with free CNE.

3/13/2019
When: Wednesday, March 13, 2019
6:00 p.m.
Where: Across Texas
United States
Contact: Texas Nurses Association
512-452-0645

« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Nurse Talks Workplace Violence

Free CNE: This activity qualifies for 1.0 contact hours. At the end of this March 2019 Nurse Talk, nurses will self-report understanding of risk behaviors that can lead to malpractice claims and how to apply risk management tools into nursing practice to protect themselves and patients. Texas Nurses Association/Foundation Provider Unit is accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.

To receive credit for this continuing nursing education activity, the participant must:

•Sign in;
•Be present for 95% of the activity;
•Participation in the Nurse Talks Discussion Questions;
•Complete and submit an online activity evaluation form.

 

Once successful completion is achieved, a “Certificate of Successful Completion” will be awarded for 1.0 contact hours

 

 Knapp Medical Center
1401 E 8th Street
Weslaco, TX 78596
Facilitator: Ann Hinojosa
ahinojosa2@primehealthcare.com

UT Health Tyler North Campus, Academic Amphitheater, 3rd floor G Bldg
11937 US Hwy 271
Tyler, TX 75706
Facilitator: Donna Walker
donna.walker@uthct.edu
Texas A&M University-Texarkana
7101 University Avenue
Texarkana, TX 75503
Facilitator: Heather McKnight
hmcknight@cableone.net

Baptist School of Nursing and Health Professions
8400 Datapoint Dr
San Antonio, TX 78232
Facilitator: Jennifer Cook (please RSVP for this location to the email below)
cook@uiwtx.edu

Mission Regional Medical Center
900 S Bryan Road
Mission, TX 78572
Facilitator: Kennetha Foster
kfoster3@primehealthcare.com
Elsevier
11011 Richmond Ave, Ste 450
Houston, TX 77042
Facilitator: Tina Cuellar, Melanie Truong
tinaatutmb@aol.com, tna9@tnadistrict9.com
Seton Administration Offices
1345 Philomena Street
Austin, TX 78723
Facilitator: Leah May
lmay@ascension.org

 

New Parkland Hospital, Rm 02-405.01
5200 Harry Hines Blvd
Dallas, TX 75235
Facilitator: Michael LoSasso
michaellosasso64@gmail.com

CANCELED DUE TO EXCESSIVE WINDS Talkington Center for Nursing Education, Rm 114    
1919 Frankford Ave
Lubbock, TX 79410
Facilitator: Patricia Freier
pfreier@covhs.org

 Lake Granbury Medical Center
1310 Paluxy Rd
Granbury, TX 76408
Facilitator: Rebekah Butler
rebekah_butler@covhs.org

Texas Nurses Association
4807 Spicewood Springs Rd, Bldg 3, Ste 100
Austin, TX 78759
Facilitator: Ron Hillard
ronhill1281@live.com

 

William P. Clements University Hospital
6201 Harry Hines Blvd
Dallas, TX 75390
Facilitator: Stephanie Huckaby
stephanie.huckaby@utsouthwestern.edu

Odessa Regional Medical Center
520 East Sixth Street
Odessa, TX 79760
Facilitator: Yvette Woody
ywoody2000@yahoo.com

 

 Children's Hospital of San Antonio
3rd Floor Simulation Center
333 N. Santa Rosa
San Antonio, TX 78207
Facilitator: Gayle Dasher
gayle.dasher@christushealth.org

University Medical Center, Nursing Administration
602 Indiana Ave
Lubbock, TX 79415
Facilitator: Tammy Williams
tammy.williams@umchealthsystem.com,
christy.brown@umchealthsystem.com

Houston Methodist - The Woodlands, Conference Rm 1&2
17201 I-45 South
The Woodlands, TX 77385
Facilitator: Aletha Savage
alethafsavage@gmail.com

Peterson Regional Medical Center
5511 Hill Country Dr
Kerrville, TX 78028
Facilitator: Linda Juenke
ljsoaringeagle3@gmail.com

Memorial Hermann Northeast
18951 Memorial North
Humble, TX 77346
Facilitator: Amanda Chappell
amanda.chappell@memorialhermann.org
Memorial Hermann Cypress Hospital
27800 Northwest Freeway
Cypress, TX 77433
Facilitator: Crystal McWhirter
crystal.mcwhirter@memorialhermann.org

JPS Outpatient Clinic Auditorium, 3rd Floor
1500 South Main Street
Fort Worth, TX 76104
Facilitator: Amanda Baker
abaker@jpshealth.org

 

 

 

 

Texas Nurses Association

Texas Affiliate of ANA | 4807 Spicewood Springs Rd., Bldg 3, Suite 100, Austin TX 78759

800.862.2022 | 512.452.0645 | tna@texasnurses.org