Print Page | Sign In | Register
Candida Auris: Deadly Superbug (Nurse Talks Empowerment Series)
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
Candida Auris: Deadly Superbug (Nurse Talks Empowerment Series)

9/12/2019
When: Thursday, September 12, 2019
6:00 p.m.
Where: Across Texas
United States
Presenter: Cheryl Hammer, BSN, RN, CIC, LSSYB
Contact: Texas Nurses Association
512-452-0645

« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Candida auris is an emerging global health threat first discovered in Japan 10 years ago. Although few cases have been reported in Texas, it is spreading quickly with outbreaks detected in New York, New Jersey and Chicago. Resistant to most drugs used to treat fungal infections, it is difficult to eradicate. Learn the populations at highest risk, challenges in diagnosis and treatment, and how to help prevent its spread. Find a site near you at the bottom of the page.

We regret to inform you that Paula Palla, RN, the original speaker for this event, will no longer be able to present.

The Nurse Talks Empowerment Series is designed to bring diverse groups of nurses together to engage in thoughtful conversation about important topics. Nurse Talks sessions are designed as live webinars viewed with other nurses at sites across Texas.  After the short presentation and Q&A session, Nurse Talks facilitators lead discussion with nurses in attendance at each site. 

Are you interested in having Nurse Talks at your facility? Learn more how here.

Free CNE: This activity qualifies for 1.0 contact hours.

Texas Nurses Association/Foundation Provider Unit is accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.

To receive credit for this continuing nursing education activity, the participant must:

•Sign in;
•Attend the entire activity;
•Participation in the Nurse Talks Discussion Questions;
•Complete and submit an online activity evaluation form.

 

Once successful completion is achieved, a “Certificate of Successful Completion” will be awarded for 1.0 contact hours

 

 

Join the Discussion

To continue the Nurse Talks’ conversations or if you missed a session and want to know what the buzz is about, login and select Groups and join the Other : Nurse Talks Empowerment Series.




CHRISTUS Santa Rosa Health System
333 N. Santa Rosa
3rd Floor Simulation Center
San Antonio, TX 78207
Facilitator: Gayle Dasher
gayle.dasher@christushealth.org
UT Health Tyler North Campus
11937 US Hwy 271
Tyler, TX 75706
Facilitator: Donna Walker
donna.walker@uthct.edu

Texas Health Harris Methodist
201 Walls
Cleburne, TX 76033
Facilitator: Vicki Brockman
vickibrockman@texashealth.org

Lake Granbury Medical Center
1310 Paluxy Road
Granbury, TX 76048
Facilitator: Rebekah Butler
rebekah_butler@chs.net

Baptist Health System School of Health Professions
8400 Datapoint Dr
San Antonio, TX 78229
Facilitator: Jennifer Cook
cook@uiwtx.edu

Patty Hanks Shelton School of Nursing
14000 University Blvd
Abilene, TX 79601
Facilitator: Donalyn Alexander, DNP, RN-BC, CLNC
donalyn.alexander@phssn.edu

University of Houston Sugar Land, College of Nursing
14000 University Blvd
Sugar Land, TX 77479
Facilitator: Kathryn Tart
lfletcher3@uh.edu


Texas Diabetes Institute - University Health System
701 S. Zarzamora St
San Antonio, TX 78207
Facilitator: MaryEllen Michaelidis
University Health System Nursing Peer Review Committee
mary.michaelidis@uhs-sa.com

Texas Nurses Association
4807 Spicewood Springs Rd., Bldg 3, Suite 100
Austin, TX 78759
Facilitator: James Hilliard
tna@texasnurses.org

University of Texas Health, Area Health Education Center
1937 Bustamante St
Laredo, TX 78045
Facilitator: Irene Rosales
irosales@uisd.net

Knapp Medical Center
1401 E. 8th St
Weslaco, TX 78596
Facilitator: Anna Hinojosa
AHinojosa2@primehealthcare.com

Lone Star College-Montgomery
3200 College Park Dr, Building B (Health Science Building) Room 141
Conroe, TX 77384
Facilitator: Linda B. Vogel
Linda.b.vogel@lonestar.edu

JPS Health Network
1500 South Main Street, Main Bldg, 3rd Fl, Executive Conference Room
Fort Worth, TX 76104
Facilitator: Kathy Watts
kwatts@jpshealth.org

Baylor Scott and White
2401 31st St
Temple, TX 76508
Facilitator: Stacy Cooper
Staycoop@yahoo.com

TMC Home Health
2600 N. Sam Rayburn Fwy, Floor 2, Ste. 200
Whitesboro, TX 75092
Facilitator: Jennifer Stuart
jkr7020@yahoo.com

TNA District 17, Del Mar College West Campus
4101 Old Brownsville Rd, Health Science 2 Bldg; Room 220
Corpus Christi, TX 78405
Facilitator: Sandy Stokes
sandra.stokes@tamucc.edu

Covenant Health, Talkington Center for Nursing Education
4015 22nd Place, Box 337
Lubbock, TX 79410
Facilitator: Patricia Freier
pfreier@covhs.org

Ascension Seton Williamson
201 Seton Parkway
Round Rock, TX 78665
Facilitator: Heather Hill
HHill@ascension.org

Texas A&M University-Texarkana
7101 University Ave
Texarkana, TX 75503
Facilitator: Heather McKnight
hmcknight@tamut.edu

DHR Health
5403 Doctor's Dr
McAllen, TX 78504
Facilitator: Michelle Scurlock
m.scurlock@dhr-rgv.com

Vantage Med Center
1911 Holcombe
Houston, TX 77030
Facilitator: Colleen (Harris) Marzilli
cmarzilli@uttyler.edu

Frio Regional Hospital
200 S IH 35
Pearsall, TX 78061
Facilitator: Amanda Van Cleve
amanda.vancleve@myfrh.com

Memorial Hermann The Woodlands Medical Center
9250 Pinecroft, Resource Center Conference Room
Woodlands, TX 77380
Facilitator: Jody Collins
jody.collins@memorialhermann.org

Shannon Health
120 E Harris
San Angelo, TX 76903
Facilitator: Pam Bradshaw
pambradshaw@shannonhealth.org

Texas Nurses Association, District 9
7324 Southwest Freeway, Arena Tower 2, Suite 1453
Houston, TX 77074
Facilitator: Melanie Truong
tna9@tnadistrict9.com

Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Fort Worth
500 Kimbrough Street
Fort Worth, TX 76104
Facilitator: Margie Dorman-O'Donnell
margie.dormanodonnell@cookchildrens.org


UTMB ADC
132 E. Hospital Drive
Angleton, TX 77515
Facilitator: Laura Williams
laurawilliamsrn@gmail.com

Clements University Hospital, UT Southwestern Medical Center
6201 Harry Hines Blvd
Dallas, TX 75390
Facilitator: Ruben Castillo
ruben.castillo@utsouthwestern.edu

Texas Nurses Association

Texas Affiliate of ANA | 4807 Spicewood Springs Rd., Bldg 3, Suite 100, Austin TX 78759

800.862.2022 | 512.452.0645 | tna@texasnurses.org