Print Page | Sign In | Register
Substance Use Disorder and Mental Health in Nursing (Nurse Talks Empowerment Series)
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
Substance Use Disorder and Mental Health in Nursing (Nurse Talks Empowerment Series)

 Export to Your Calendar 11/14/2019
When: Thursday, November 14, 2019
6:00 p.m.
Where: Across Texas
United States
Presenter: Dawn Webb, MSN, RN
Contact: Texas Nurses Association
512-452-0645

« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Nursing can be stressful career path with a lot of potential triggers on the job. Learn about substance use issues and mental health concerns in nursing, including how to recognize signs of use or mental health issues in your peers. Learn how the Texas Peer Assistance Program for Nurses uses a person-centered approach to encourage and provide support to nurses in their recovery journey so they can safely practice nursing. Find a site near you at the bottom of the page.

 

The Nurse Talks Empowerment Series is designed to bring diverse groups of nurses together to engage in thoughtful conversation about important topics. Nurse Talks sessions are designed as live webinars viewed with other nurses at sites across Texas.  After the short presentation and Q&A session, Nurse Talks facilitators lead discussion with nurses in attendance at each site.

Are you interested in having Nurse Talks at your facility?  Learn more how here.

Free CNE: This activity qualifies for 1.0 contact hours.

Texas Nurses Association/Foundation Provider Unit is accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.

To receive credit for this continuing nursing education activity, the participant must:

•Sign in;
•Attend the entire activity;
•Participation in the Nurse Talks Discussion Questions;
•Complete and submit an online activity evaluation form.

 

Once successful completion is achieved, a “Certificate of Successful Completion” will be awarded for 1.0 contact hours

 

 

Join the Discussion

To continue the Nurse Talks’ conversations or if you missed a session and want to know what the buzz is about, login and select Groups and join the Other : Nurse Talks Empowerment Series.



CHRISTUS Santa Rosa Health System
333 N. Santa Rosa
3rd Floor Simulation Center
San Antonio, TX 78207
Facilitator: Gayle Dasher
gayle.dasher@christushealth.org
UT Health Tyler North Campus
11937 US Hwy 271
Tyler, TX 75706
Facilitator: Donna Walker
donna.walker@uthct.edu

Texas Health Harris Methodist
201 Walls
Cleburne, TX 76033
Facilitator: Vicki Brockman
vickibrockman@texashealth.org

Texas Nurses Association
4807 Spicewood Springs Rd., Bldg 3, Suite 100
Austin, TX 78759
Facilitator: James Hilliard
tna@texasnurses.org

Baptist Health System School of Health Professions
8400 Datapoint Dr
San Antonio, TX 78229
Facilitator:Jennifer Cook
cook@uiwtx.edu

Lake Granbury Medical Center
1310 Paluxy Rd
Granbury, TX 76048
Facilitator:Rebekah Butler
rebekah_butler@chs.net

Patty Hanks Shelton School of Nursing
2149 Hickory Street
Abilene, TX 79601
Facilitator: Donalyn Alexander, DNP, RN-BC, CLNC
donalyn.alexander@phssn.edu


University of Houston Sugar Land, College of Nursing
14000 University Blvd
Sugar Land, TX 77479
Facilitator: Kathryn Tart
lfletcher3@uh.edu


Texas Diabetes Institute - University Health System
701 S. Zarzamora St
San Antonio, TX 78207
Facilitator: MaryEllen Michaelidis
University Health System Nursing Peer Review Committee
mary.michaelidis@uhs-sa.com

St. David's South Austin Medical Center
901 W. Ben White Blvd
Austin, TX 78704
Facilitator: Christine M. Walker
christilev@yahoo.com


Baylor Scott and White
2401 31st St
Temple, TX 76508
Facilitator: Stacy Cooper
Staycoop@yahoo.com

University of Texas Health, Area Health Education Center
1937 Bustamante St
Laredo, TX 78045
Facilitator: Irene Rosales
irosales@uisd.net

Baylor Scott and White White, Medical Center Round Rock
300 University Blvd
Round Rock, TX 78665
Facilitator: Serena Bumpus
Serena.Bumpus@bswhealth.org

Knapp Medical Center
1401 E. 8th St
Weslaco, TX 78596
Facilitator: Anna Hinojosa
AHinojosa2@primehealthcare.com

Lone Star College-Montgomery
3200 College Park Dr, Building B (Health Science Building) Room 141
Conroe, TX 77384
Facilitator: Linda B. Vogel
Linda.b.vogel@lonestar.edu

JPS Health Network
1500 South Main Street, Main Bldg, 3rd Fl, Executive Conference Room
Fort Worth, TX 76104
Facilitator: Kathy Watts
kwatts@jpshealth.org

Covenant Health, Talkington Center for Nursing Education
4015 22nd Place, Box 337
Lubbock, TX 79410
Facilitator: Patricia Freier
pfreier@covhs.org

Texas A&M University-Texarkana
7101 University Ave
Texarkana, TX 75503
Facilitator: Heather McKnight
hmcknight@tamut.edu

DHR Health
5403 Doctor's Dr
McAllen, TX 78504
Facilitator: Michelle Scurlock
m.scurlock@dhr-rgv.com

Vantage Med Center
1911 Holcombe
Houston, TX 77030
Facilitator: Colleen (Harris) Marzilli
cmarzilli@uttyler.edu

Memorial Hermann The Woodlands Medical Center
9250 Pinecroft, Resource Center Conference Room
Woodlands, TX 77380
Facilitator: Kimberly McIntosh
Kimberly.mcintosh@memorialhermann.org

Shannon Health
120 E Harris
San Angelo, TX 76903
Facilitator: Pam Bradshaw
pambradshaw@shannonhealth.org

Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Fort Worth
500 Kimbrough Street
Fort Worth, TX 76104
Facilitator: Margie Dorman-O'Donnell
margie.dormanodonnell@cookchildrens.org

UTMB ADC
132 E. Hospital Drive
Angleton, TX 77515
Facilitator: Laura Williams
laulwill@utmb.edu

Clements Jr. University Hospital, UTSW Medical Center
6201 Harry Hines Blvd
Dallas, TX 75390
Facilitator: Ruben Castillo
ruben.castillo@utsouthwestern.edu

PAM Rehabilitation Hospital of Round Rock
351 Seton Pkwy
Round Rock, TX 78665
Facilitator: Jessica Wright
jessicajwright@yahoo.com

Baylor Heart and Vascular Hospital
621 N Hall Street
Dallas, TX 75226
Facilitator: Mary Vitullo
vitullo.mary@yahoo.com

McLennan Community College
1400 College Dr, MAC Room 201
Waco, TX 76708
Facilitator: Suzanne "Michelle" Myers
smmyers1029@gmail.com

LeTourneau University and TNA District 19
2100 S Mobberly Ave, Nursing Bldg, Fl 1, Rm 3
Longview, TX 75607
Facilitator: Karen Koerber-Timmons
mkkoerbertimmons@gmail.com

CHRISTUS Good Shepherd Health System - Marshall
811 South Washington, Executive Board Rm
Marshall, TX 75670
Facilitator: Shirley Aycock
shirley.aycock@christushealth.org

New Parkland Hospital   *cancelled*
5200 Harry Hines Blvd
Dallas, TX 75235
Facilitator: Michael LoSasso
michaellosasso64@gmail.com

Jason's Deli, Gulfway Shopping Center
1416 Airline Rd
Corpus Christi, TX 78412
Facilitator: Sandy Stokes
sandra.stokes@tamucc.edu


University of Texas Arlington
411 S. Nedderman Dr, Pickard Hall, Rm 104
Arlington, TX 76019
Facilitator: Becky Baird
becky.baird@uta.edu

Texas Nurses Association

Texas Affiliate of ANA | 4807 Spicewood Springs Rd., Bldg 3, Suite 100, Austin TX 78759

800.862.2022 | 512.452.0645 | tna@texasnurses.org